The City Government of Nelson Consists of five (5) Council Members elected at large (city-wide) to serve for Four Years with staggered election years.
 The City also has a Mayor who is also elected at large (city-wide) to serve a four year term. 
The City Council meets on the first Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. at Nelson City Hall.
Operating hours for City Hall are weekdays from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.